Nano 12.5 vs Yak 15

10 posts / 0 new
Last post
kitesurfa
Nano 12.5 vs Yak 15

Submitted by jamess

I am new to speedflying and about to buy new wing. I will go with GIN, but can not decide between Nano and Yak.

Which one do you find SAFER - i am newbie, but very at home to extreme sports with all my background.

My idea is descending mountain peaks once i climb them (weight is an issue) both summer and winter.

All help very appreciated!!

No votes yet
Select your preferred way to display the comments and click "Save settings" to activate your changes.
a random Speed-Flyer (not verified)

The Yak is the only recomendable wing for your purpose. Forget the Nano, as it will be only usable for footlaunching at some very steep slopes due to the very bad glide ratio. Especially in Slovenia there are a lot of trees, and I guess you don´t want to land in trees, even though you try to fly like a bird? Dont you?

BR, Stefan (a Yak-Mountain-Rocker)

kitesurfa

Submitted by Swoopn

Have FUN!!

kitesurfa

Submittedd by Anonymous

I come from Slovenia. And I went with Gin Yak 15, awaiting it next week. Thanks everyone for your thoughts.

kitesurfa

Submitted by Swoopn

I do agree that you need to choose a wing that is suitable for you desired terrain. However, going to a smaller wing in a new sport does add risk. Assuming your gear weighs about 20lbs you are loading your current parachute at 1.24 lbs/ft^2. I would not call an aggressive loading and considering you've have less than year of experience I would err on the side of caution and go with a wing that is a little slower. This is were kitesurfa's advice will be more educated than mine, as he is much more knowledgeable of the different paragliding style wings than I.
btw Where do you live?
G

kitesurfa
Which one do you find SAFER - i am newbie, but very at home to extreme sports with all my background.

My idea is descending mountain peaks once i climb them (weight is an issue) both summer and winter.